ImGui for a semi-pro audio app

Hello community !

I’ve been developing audio apps for iOS/macOS for 10+ years now. I was using an internal widget library which is too cumbersome to maintain. To anticipate future developments, I am currently looking for an alternative, for a well maintained, clean and future proof UI widget library.

After researching quite a bit for something similar, I came across nanovg, nanogui, imgui, and nuklear. Imgui seems the most solid so far and from what I could see in the gallery, it seems it would pretty much suits the needs to write a full semi-pro audio app that targets multiple platforms, hence renderers.

I have two concerns and I hope to get genuine feedback directly from the community :

• Immediate Mode GUI might not be the perfect choice for more complex app. The app(s) in question I wish to design are separated in different screens. Each view can be quite complex without it being too crowded either. What is your experience / feedback, pro’s & con’s about designing semi-complex apps with imgui ? From the gallery, I could see pretty complex UI’s with a wide range. I just want to avoid any overload as CPU should be favored for audio processing needs.

• Are there any tools to design and draft / prototype UI’s, to instantiate, skin, place and dimension widgets easily that can be “plugged” to imgui ? Somewhat something like CSS or descriptive stylesheet / document based language.

I have other questions in mind but those two are the most decisive for me.

Hope they make sense, and happy to go forward with imgui if, hopefully, it fits the needs for my upcoming projects.

Thank you in advance,
M.

Hello Mathieu,
I think this would be best asked on github where there is a more active community.

Quick (biased) answer

• Your first point is not a big issue but writing your widget you need to be mindful of performances.